The CFAS Board of Directors discharges its oversight responsibilities with the assistance of the following committees:

The Board may add new committees or remove existing committees as needed to fulfill its responsibilities.
The role, duties and responsibilities of the Board and the committees are clearly defined in the Society’s By-laws.

Appropriations Committee

The CFAS is proud to announce the creation of a new segregated fund that will be specifically set aside to initiate, assist and further research and special projects by the CFAS and its members.

Learn more

Awards Committee

The Awards Committee will receive nominations and adjudicate all awards given by the Society. The Committee will be comprised of the three (3) most recent Past-Presidents of the Society and will be Chaired by the immediate Past-President.

Jason Min, MD
Regional Fertility Program, 2000 Veterans Pl NW #400 Calgary, AB T3B 4N2

Clifford Librach, MD
 790 Bay St #1100 Toronto, ON M5G 1N8

Heather Shapiro, MD
Mount Sinai Fertility, 250 Dundas St W suite 700, Toronto, ON M5T 2Z5

Clinical Practice Guideline Committee

The mission of the CPG Committee, comprised of physicians, is to produce relevant, up-to-date, evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and policy statements within the field of reproductive medicine.

Communications Committee

The mandate of the Communications Committee is to ensure the CFAS achieves its strategic objective to be the voice of ART in Canada.  To this end, the Committee is responsible for three core functions:

  1. Member engagement
  2. Stakeholder Relations
  3. Media and Public Relations

Communications Committee:

  • Goldi Gill, MBA, PhD(c) (Chair)
  • Eileen McMahon, RN(EC), MN, PNC(C)
    Cliff Librach, MD
  • Sherry Levitan, LLB
    Heather Shapiro, MD
  • Simon Phillips, PhD

Media Relations
All media enquiries should be directed to the CFAS office

Goldi Gill
416 451-9555

Continuing Professional Development

The role of the National Director/Director of Continuing Professional Development is to assist the Board on questions concerning continuing professional development, maintenance of professional competence, and needs assessment for educational programs.

The mission of the CFAS-CPD Committee is to promote professional development in reproductive health through continuing education. Continuing medical education (CME) activities are designed for professionals working within the field of reproductive medicine in Canada.

Kaajal Abrol, MD
TRIO Fertility
655 Bay Street
Toronto, Ontario

Finance Committee

The Finance Committee is responsible to the members of the Society. Its mandate is to achieve long-term financial stability for the Society and to ensure the Society achieves its financial goals with clear ethical guidelines that are in the best interest of ART in Canada

2019 – 2020

Eileen McMahon, RN(EC), MN, PNC(C)
Mount Sinai Fertility
250 Dundas St W #700
Toronto, ON M5T 2Z5

Jason Hitkari, MD
Olive Fertility Centre
555 W 12th Ave #300 
Vancouver, BC V5Z 3X7

Simon Phillips, PhD
clinique ovo
8000 Decarie Blvd
Montreal, QC h3P 2S4

Government Relations

Government Relations is under the purview of the Board of Directors which is advised by Regional Representatives.

Jeffrey Roberts, MD (Chair)
Pacific Centre for Reproductive Medicine
4601 Canada Way #500
Burnaby, BC V5G 4X7

Carl A. Laskin, MD, FRCPC 
Trio Fertility
655 Bay Street, 18th Floor
Toronto, ON M5G 2K4

Jason Min, MD
Regional Fertility Program
Suite 400, 2000 Veteran’s Place NW
Calgary, AB T3B 4N2

Sherry Levitan, LLB
1 Yorkdale Rd
North York, ON M6A 2T9

Heather Shapiro, MD
Mount Sinai Fertility
250 Dundas St W #700
Toronto, ON M5T 2Z5

Nominations Committee

The objective of the Committee is to attract member Directors that will contribute to the mission and vision of the Society and fill gaps in competencies that will enable complement professions that reflect goals stated in the corporate By-Laws.

  • Cliff Librach, MD (Toronto, ON)

  • Kaajal Abrol, MD (Toronto, ON)

  • Simon Phillips, PhD (Montreal, QC)

Scientific Committee 2020

Scientific Committee is responsible for the development of the Annual Meeting program and is comprised of the President of the Society during the year in which the relevant Annual Meeting will take place, the Vice-President and the CPD National Director, plus a number of regular members designated by the Board of Directors to represent the special interest groups, being groups that reflect the scientific interest of the Society.

  • Eileen McMahon, RN(EC), MN, PNC(C) • CFAS President
  • Nicole Lee, RN • Nurses
  • Alexander Lagunov, MSc • ART Lab
  • Sharna Cohen, MEd, RSW • Counsellors
  • Holly Yager, MEd, BA, RCC, CCC  • Counsellors
  • Sarah Kimmins, PhD • Andrology
    Michael Hartman, MD • Imaging
  • Deborah Myers, M.Mgt, CCPE • Administrative
  • Karen Glass, MD • Fertility Preservation
  • Andree Gauthier-Fisher, PhD • Scientist in Reproductive Endocrinology
  • Marc-André Sirard, PhD • Scientist in Reproductive Endocrinology
  • Shirley Levitan, LLB • Ethics and Law
  • Svetlana Madjunkova MD, PhD • Genetics