2017 – Vancouver

This year, the Award of Excellence committee and the Board of Directors decided to honor Dr. Mathias Gysler with this prestigious award for his outstanding contribution to, and leadership in the field of Reproductive Medicine and Science.

Unfortunately Dr. Gysler was unable to attend the 2017 Annual Meeting. Dr. Leader presented the award which Dr. Hamilton accepted in his honor.

Although Matt was not well enough to attend the CFAS meeting in Vancouver, he attended a special presentation at Glen Abbey Golf Course in Oakville, Ontario a few weeks later (September 25, 2017). A research chair was named in Matt’s honour and this popular event included more than 100 colleagues from the multi-hospital Trillium Partners Health Groups, The University of Toronto and CFAS members from the GTA. CFAS Executive Director Mark Evans attended this event and formally presented the prestigious Award of Excellence to Dr. Gysler. Matt was in fine form and as eloquent as ever in his acceptance and appreciation of this award. This was a special evening for Matt, his family and his many respected colleagues.

About Dr. Gysler

()Dr Mathias Gysler completed his specialty training in Toronto. He then did a one year fellowship as a McLaughlin Fellow in REI at UCLA. His fellowship research on time to pregnancy with clomiphene therapy is still widely cited. On his return to the University of Toronto, he was both the Chief of Paediatric and Adolescent Gynaecology and the Medical Director of University’s first IVF program. With colleagues he then established the ISIS Fertility Centre. Widely respected among his clinical colleagues and with an endless capacity for hard work, Dr. Gysler served simultaneously as Credit Valley Hospital Chief of the departments of Obstetrics/ Gynaecology, Anesthesia, Medicine and Chief of Staff while a long-serving member of the CFAS Board and its committees and as its president in 2013. He has served on numerous national and provincial committees motivated by the desire to bring a fair and rational approach to patient care in infertility.

Warren Foster is a senior scientist, currently Professor, Reproductive Biology Division, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, McMaster University. He completed his PhD some 25 years ago at McMaster and held positions at Health and Welfare Canada, Cedars-Sinai Medical Centre in Los Angeles, prior to his return to McMaster in 2001. He is a highly accomplished researcher with more than 160 peer-reviewed publications and several book chapters to his credit. He has been a frequent invited speaker in Canada and internationally at congresses and at medical schools. He has a remarkable record of service to his university, to scientific societies and as a member of grant panels over the last 20 years, including service as the President of CFAS. He has also numerous supervised undergraduates, graduates and residents. He is well known as a reproductive toxicologist and has made major contributions to our understanding of reproductive function and dysfunction at both the fundamental and applied levels.

The Award of Excellence committee and the Board of Directors decided to honor Dr. Jeffrey Nisker with this prestigious award for his outstanding contribution to, and leadership in the field of Reproductive Medicine and Science.

Unfortunately Dr. Nisker was unable to attend the ceremony so Dr. Yuzpe graciously accepted on his behalfAward of Excellence

Dr. Nisker was later presented the award during the London Health Sciences Centre’s “Advancing Wellness in Reproductive Health Continuing Medical Education” event which took place on May 6, 2016.

()Nisker Award

()NiskerAbout Dr. Nisker

Dr. Jeff Nisker is a Professor of Obstetrics-Gynaecology at the Schulich School Medicine & Dentistry, Western University, and Scientist, Children’s Health Research Institute.

He holds, and has held, CIHR and Genome Canada grants to explore ethical and social issues in reproductive medicine, genetics, and exposure of pregnant women to environmental toxins. He has held a CIHR/Health Canada grant exploring public engagement for citizen deliberation regarding preimplantation genetic diagnosis.

Jeff has written or co-written over 150 scientific articles and book chapters, as well as seven plays. His plays have been performed throughout Canada, as well as in the United States, the United Kingdom, Australia and South Africa.

Past Winners

2014 • Christopher Newton, PhD
2011 • Roger Pierson, PhD
2010 • Bruce Murphy, PhD
2008 • Benjamin K. Tsang, PhD
2006 • Arthur Leader, MD
2005  Robert Reid, MD
2004 • Robert F. Casper, MD
2003 • Claude Gagnon, PhD
2002 • Togas Tulandi, MD
2001 • John Jarrell, MD
2000 • Patrick Taylor, MD
1999 • Serge Belisle, MD
1998 • Albert A. Yuzpe, MD
1997 • Bernard Robaire, PhD
1996 • Victor Gomel, MD
1995 • John Collins, MD
1994 • Jacques Rioux, MD